Thanksgiving Prep

I am so excited for Thanksgiving this year. It has become my favorite holiday! I love that it’s not based on buying anyone anything. It’s all about the food and I can’t wait to bake and cook and prepare dinner while sipping a cocktail. I’m having a hard time deciding on a cocktail this year, but my Thanksgiving day food choices are shaping up.

For breakfast some flaky crescent rolls from one of my favorite blogs, Half Baked Harvest. This uses yeast, and traditionally my attempts at yeast have not gone well, but I’m going for it!  We will stick with the traditional turkey this year at the request of the kids.  For many years we were vegetarian and made risotto. I enjoyed lording over the cauldron of rice adding broth for what felt like an entire day, but not this year.  According to some article (of forgotten origin) the best recipe for turkey can be found with Martha Stewart. I’ll let you know how it goes.

For sides I am making Smitten Kitchen’s green bean casserole with crispy onions. I hate recipes that require a can of soup and this one makes it all from scratch in an easy and accessible way. I’m thinking some whipped potatoes with butter and sour cream will also make its way to the table and then some rolls. I saw these rosemary-scented dinner rolls on Food and Wine which also require yeast, but the recipe looks easy enough so I’m hoping this is the day that yeast becomes my friend. I might buy some rolls to hide in a drawer just in case. My husband has requested pumpkin ravioli and this recipe looks fabulous, but is that going to far?  Can my kitchen handle all of this? What are you cooking?

Leave a Reply

