Aging

image
Blogger. Notice shiny white hairs trying to make a takeover.

Sometimes I see a photo of myself… or catch a glimpse of myself in the mirror and I wonder, “Who is that middle aged lady?” It’s me. How did that happen? Mentally I cling to age 27. I looked hot. I felt engaged with life, but not too tied down. Anything was possible…

I’m not the only one who feels this way. I see it on the television. New Girl, Mindy, Broad City… these are all shows about women acting like girls or even children. They are funny. But what does that say about me? What does it say about society as a whole if we give ourselves permission to not grow up?

What does it mean to mature anyway? Is it simply embracing responsibility?

What are we resisting? Youth, as I recall, was not much to celebrate. Is it fear of wrinkles? Is it simple vanity?

I came across this video of Frances McDormand today on Joanne Goddard’s blog A Cup of Joe, in which McDormand talks about aging and how acknowledging the lines on our face is all about accepting our lives. She also mentioned that she and her husband have discussed aging! How often do we discuss getting older? It just sort of happens in the background while we pretend to be 27!

Time will move forward. We will age as it goes. Can we accept it? Can we appreciate the experience and what it brings into our lives?

Leave a Reply

