Goals

The lazy part of me wants to give into my craving for a corn muffin and drop everything to go bake them.

It would provide me with a deep sense of satisfaction to go through the process of making the batter…  measure and whisk the dry ingredients…  yellow cornmeal would fade into flour and leavening agents. Cornmeal and the milk thicken on the stove top…. an unusual and intriguing step. Next the eggs, butter, and sour cream are mixed in. Finally everything comes together to create a thick, rich, yellow batter that is then scooped into a greased muffin tin.

The muffins would bake until the whole house smelled like warm corn and the tops would crack with a lovely golden crust. Once I broke one open (within a few minutes of taking them out of the oven of course) the inside would steam and I would gob (can I use gob as a verb? probably not but I’m doing it anyway) on butter and let it melt into the muffin before I devoured it!

But it’s not part of my larger goal of the year which is to write, so no muffins tonight.

Strangely I’m okay with that.

I’ve never understood the concept of having yearly goals before. This is new to me. But wow! How clarifying! Decisions to be made about my use of time are easy now. I told myself to write. So I write.

Did you make a 2015 goal? Has it changed your use of time?

 

 

Leave a Reply

