Slow and Steady

As I drove past the speed limit sign I peered at my speedometer. I was driving 5 miles per hour under the speed limit.

For a person who just five years ago raced around Denver, Colorado as though it gave my life purpose, it felt like a victory.

I now stop walking to view clouds. I smell flowers. I listen to my son’s excitement over a video game and my daughter’s tears over her latest perceived loss of her favorite snuggling pig.

Focused on my present experience, life unfolds.

Stress may catch up to me in the near future.

Fall will mean the return to routine. The need to spend more money, and at the same time, the impending loss of my job.

These thoughts that previously would send my mind racing, are now just facts that require action.

May I find the courage to act while maintaining my appreciation for this life.

It will all work out. It will all be as it should be.

Leave a Reply

