Out of the Comfort Zone

I decided to join a contest held by Blogilates (aka Casey Ho) to win some fitness clothes from her new line called Popflexactive.

Participation required me to post photographs of myself on Instagram doing a specific pose for each of the first 14 days of February and then write a bit about each day’s hashtag.

Most Popsters (as Casey Ho’s followers call themselves) are around the age of 18, so I felt a bit out of place. That’s an understatement. I am way too old! (Social media is a bizarre universe where I (a woman of 43) can “follow” teenage girls and their fitness journeys.)

Turns out Popsters  are the kindest most supportive young people ever!

Beyond getting over the weirdness of photographing myself daily, Instagram challenged me in other ways.

For one, it’s hard to not compare myself to every uber flexible body out there as though that was a measure of how to do a yoga pose correctly or my own self worth.

Number two: As with everything, it’s easy to get caught up in the ego. How many likes do I have? How many followers?

At one point I realized I couldn’t hear my children because I was staring at my phone. So I’m a bit obsessive. But now that the contest is over, I vow to be less so… (Unless I win. In which case my desire for Instagram contests could send me down a dangerous selfie taking path. Ha!)

For now, I will continue to post to Instagram because I think any image of a normal person doing basic yoga, especially with props, is needed. Not every photograph should be a woman with a perfect body in a ridiculously bendy pose.

I’m chairyogini…  follow me!

Want to try triangle pose with a chair? I wrote a post on Ananda Panda.

triangle_chair

Leave a Reply

